Crystal Apple Winners were Honored May 14

photo of superintendent with four winners

The Pendleton School District's 2018 Crystal Apple winners were honored at the awards ceremony on Monday, May 14 at the Red Lion in Pendleton.

Each year, the InterMountain ESD organizes these awards for its component school districts to recognize outstanding administrators, teachers, educational assistants and office and building staff for their dedication and commitment to students and for their willingness to go above and beyond their regular duties. A total of 44 individuals were honored in May in Morrow, Umatilla and Union county school districts. The 2018 events mark the 19th annual Crystal Apple Awards for Umatilla and Morrow counties and the 7th annual for Union County.

The 2018 Pendleton School District winners are:
Maria Davis, Special Education Teacher at Washington Elementary (13 years in the district)
Aimee Gunter, Paraprofessional at McKay Creek Elementary (3 years in the district)
Ken Jacobs, Tech Ed/Industrial Teacher at Sunridge Middle School (11 years in the district)
Jewel Kennedy, Science Teacher at Nixya'awii Community School (4 years in the district)

To read bios of each winner, please view the Awards Ceremony Program.

Photo Caption: From left, Ken Jacobs, Aimee Gunter, Superintendent Chris Fritsch, Maria Davis and Jewel Kennedy.

For more information about the awards, please visit the IMESD website's Crystal Apple page.

Release Date