Safe Schools Committee

Mission Statement:

The Safety Committee is a blend of school personnel and community partners, including first responders.  The committee is charged to periodically review safety and security procedures, emerging trends that may impact schools, and make recommendations to policies and administrative regulations as needed.

Committee Goals:

  • Review safety programs, strategies, and make recommendations as appropriate.
  • Examine safety and security issues related to the school system and make recommendations as appropriate.
  • Explore ways to involve the community in promoting school safety.
  • Regularly review emergency preparedness of the school system.

The Safe Schools Committee meets three times during the school year and as necessary when situations arise. Meeting dates are:

  • October 26, 2023 at 4:00 pm at the District Office
  • January 25, 2024 at 4:00 pm at the District Office
  • April 25, 2024 at 4:00 pm at the District Office

2023-24 Committee Members

Angela Lattin Principal – PELC
Charles Byram Chief Pendleton Police Department
Dale Freeman PSD Board Member
Dale Primmer Director of Community Justice
Dan Primus District Attorney’s Office
Digna Moreno Juvenile Detention
Emily Smith St. Anthony Hospital
Karl Farber Oregon State Police
Kevin Dinning Principal – Washington
Kevin Headings Superintendent
Lance Zaugg School Resource Officer
Michelle Jones PSD Director of Business Services
Pat Dutcher Principal – PHS
Patrick Phillips First Student, Inc.
Piper Kelm Principal – SMS
Ronda Smith Principal – Sherwood Elementary
Ryan Heinrich Nixyáawii Community School
Ryan Lehnert PSD Board Member
Sherri Kilgore Principal – McKay
Terry Rowan Umatilla County Sherriff’s Department
Timothy Addleman Tribal Police Department
Tony Nelson Pendleton Police Department
Tony Pierotti Chief Pendleton Fire Department